Stun Gun Attorney New Jersey
Taser Attorney Newark
The use of stun guns and tasers as a means of personal protection has grown
in popularity over the last few years. Unfortunately, the laws around
the country vary for the use of such devices. It is critical to determine
what the state law is before carrying a taser or stun gun for personal
For example, in New Jersey, it is unlawful for an individual to possess
a taser or stun gun. It is not a defense that you were only using it for
personal protection or that your house was previously burglarized. The
courts will not recognize this as a valid defense if you are arrested
for using such a device.
Under N.J.S.A. 2C:39-3(h), only law enforcement personnel, may carry a
taser or stun gun. There are no exceptions for personal use in New Jersey.
If a taser or stun gun is found in your possession, you will be charged
with a crime in the 4
th degree. This means that you will face a penalty of up to $10,000 and jail
time of up to 18 months.
If you have been charged with possession of a stun gun or a taser, call
the King Law Firm today at 973-933-4382 for a free consultation.